Board and Staff

A volunteer Board of Directors governs United Way St. Croix Valley. The Board meets 6 times per year. The Executive Committee consists of the five officers (president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, and past president). There are three standing committees of the Board (Finance, Community Impact and Resource Development) which meet as needed.

Board members are identified and recruited by the Executive Director and the Board’s Executive Committee. The goal is to maintain a Board that is representative of the communities that we serve. Board members may serve up to six years and terms are staggered to maintain continuity.

United Way St. Croix Valley has six employees. Executive Director Ann Searles, and 2-1-1 Community Impact Director Jessica Neumann, work full-time. Part-time employees are Development and Communications Director Jessica Francis, JCFRC Director Tom Holland, Operations Manager Lara Otsuka, and Volunteer & JCFRC Coordinator Jenn Kowalsky.

Board of Directors

Kevin Urbik
Heywood, Cari and Anderson, S.C.

Marc Ruska
Vice President 
Domestic Bank Credit
US Bank

Michael Gruenes 
Treasurer, Finance & Operations Committee Chair
Manager, Financial Mgmt. Technology

Josh Lindseth
Office Supervisor
WESTconsin Credit Union - New Richmond

Board Members

James Dahl, Director, LDOE (Retired) SUPERVALU, Inc.

Ann Schilling, Senior Director of Human Services, Amery Hospital and Clinic

Todd Sherman, VP, Global Bankcard
Client Services, US Bank

Caroline (Kiki) Nelson, Personal Banker, Bremer Bank

Brian McAlpine, Commercial Insurance Specialist, Bremer Insurance - Amery

Cynthia Jahnke, Personal Lines Manager, Sandeen Insurance

Warren Schneider, Director of Materials Compliance (Retired), 3M Company

Deanna Shimota, Partner, Growth Mode Marketing

Craig Swanson, Director (Retired), Lean Six Sigma & Corporate Quality

Steve Snell, Engineering Manager, Engineered Plasic Components 

Kaydia Sobottka, Human Resouce Officer, First National Bank of River Falls

Julie DuBois, Director, Human Resource Development, Andersen Corporation


Ann Searles
Executive Director

Jessica FrancisJessica Francis
Development and Communications Director

Tom HollandTom Holland
John Coughlin Food & Resource Center Director


Jessica NeumannJessica Neumann
2-1-1 Community Impact Director
Lara OtsukaLara Otsuka
Operations Manager