Board and Team

A volunteer Board of Directors governs United Way St. Croix Valley. The Board meets six times per year. The Executive Committee consists of the five officers (president, vice president, secretary, treasurer, and past president). There are three standing committees of the Board (Finance, Community Impact and Resource Development) which meet as needed.

Board members are identified and recruited by the Executive Director and the Board’s Executive Committee. The goal is to maintain a Board that is representative of the communities that we serve. Board members may serve up to six years and terms are staggered to maintain continuity.

Board of Directors

Marc Ruska
Domestic Bank Credit
US Bank

Ann Schilling
Vice President
Senior Director of Human Services
Amery Hospital and Clinic

Michael Gruenes 
Treasurer, Finance & Operations Committee Chair, Community Impact Committee
Manager, Financial Mgmt. Technology

Josh Lindseth
Office Supervisor
WESTconsin Credit Union - New Richmond

Kevin Urbik
Past President, Chair Governance Committee
Heywood, Cari and Anderson, S.C.

James Dahl, Director, LDOE (Retired) SUPERVALU, Inc.

Todd Sherman, VP, Global Bankcard Client Services, US Bank

Caroline (Kiki) Nelson, Personal Banker, Bremer Bank

Brian McAlpine, Commercial Insurance Specialist, Bremer Insurance - Amery

Cynthia Jahnke, Personal Lines Manager, Sandeen Insurance

Warren Schneider, Director of Materials Compliance (Retired), 3M Company

Deanna Shimota, Partner, GrowthMode Marketing

Craig Swanson, Director (Retired), Lean Six Sigma & Corporate Quality

Steve Snell, Engineering Manager, Engineered Plasic Components 

Kaydi Sobottka, Human Resouce Officer, First National Bank of River Falls

Julie DuBois, Director, Human Resource Development, Andersen Corporation


Ann Searles
Executive Director

Jessica NeumannJessica Neumann
211 Community Impact Director

Tom HollandTom Holland
John Coughlin Food & Resource Center Manager


Lara OtsukaLara Otsuka
Operations Manager

Betsy Byker
Success by 6 Program Director

Jen Kowalsky
Volunteer Food & Resource Center Coordinator

Sara Haase
giveBIG Program & Development Director





Lisa Murphy
Strategic Communications Coordinator


Mary Gove
Connected Communities VISTA